Feb 2 – Happy Candlemas and congrats to Gordon Savage…

Happy Groundhog Day – or Candlemas, which is the half way point between the Winter Solstice and Vernal Equinox. Now that I know the name “Candlemas” – I want that to Trend, so at least one of your tweets today should contain the word #Candlemas. You can make a difference… rah rah Twitter Power!

****

Okay – seriously folks… Today I attended the launch party celebration for Peacemaker 2564AD – a great new sci-fi novel. There was a good turnout and several people I’ve known for quite some time were there, at Gordon’s invitation (not mine), but I’d also known them for many years. One of them is a staple in the Denver book marketing community named Joe Sabah. Joe is 80+ years- young and he’s still going very strong, as an author and a book marketer. He still gives several seminars a month about public speaking – another of his passions.

I can’t really demonstrate in this blog how easy it is to go out and just talk about your book, I must let you know that I do it any chance that I get. If I can get a captive audience of 3 or more, I’ll give a presentation – on angels, on publishing. It doesn’t matter. Today I was asked to speak quickly about the best way that these launch-party attendees could help their author friend. I didn’t have a speech prepared, but I was asked to go up and deliver one all the same. I did. It was fun. I hope it will help out Gordon.

What I taught the attendees was the importance of reviewing the books that they read on Amazon.com. That alone will do so much good for any book. But better yet, in the title line for the review – describe the book by naming its niche. So, in the case of Peacemaker, instead of saying “Great book” – say “Great Sci-Fi book” or “Peacemaker 2564 is a stunning Sci-Fi novel.” Amazon.com looks at the titles of the reviews and uses those words to develop relevance for their search engines. So anyone looking for a Sci-Fi Novel will have a better chance of finding Gordon’s book if his reviews all say Sci-Fi in their title.

That list of keywords you have by your side – those are the words that need to be in your reviews. If you know who gave you the review, and if it doesn’t contain a keyword, ask them to update their review with it – as a personal favor. They likely will and it will mean the world to your future sales!

Congratulations to Gordon Savage and to his new Sci-Fi Novel Peacemaker 2564AD!

Leave a Reply

